Sen. Paul Newton Next Majority Leader

The Senate Republican Caucus voted yesterday to elect Sen. Paul Newton (R-Cabarrus) as the next majority leader. Per the announcement, Sen. Kathy Harrington (R-Gaston) has held the position since 2021, but plans to retire this year. Additionally, Sen. Phil Berger (R-Rockingham) will serve as the Senate president pro tempore and Sen. Dan Blue (D-Wake) will serve as the Democratic leader in the N.C. Senate.