Elections Slated for 15 NC Counties on July 26th

Voters in 15 North Carolina counties will go to the polls on July 26th in a mix of municipal general elections, runoff elections and, in Graham and Wake counties, second primaries for sheriff.

In 2022, there are no second primaries for statewide or federal contests, as all primary candidates who prevailed in these races received enough votes to send them through to the November 8 general election. Only a handful of municipalities will conduct general elections or runoff elections for their elected offices on July 26. This means 85 counties will not conduct any elections in July.

The following are the contests to be decided on July 26:

  • Six municipalities – Charlotte, Fayetteville, Greensboro, Hickory, Mooresville, and Sanford – will hold local general elections for mayor and/or city or town council.
  • Other municipalities and boards of education will hold runoff elections for certain offices. They are: Cary, New Bern, Rocky Mount, Statesville, the Franklin County Board of Education, and the Jackson County Board of Education.
  • Second primaries will be held for the Republican nomination for sheriff in Graham County and the Democratic nomination for sheriff in Wake County.

See candidate lists for the 2022 July election.

If a voter is eligible to vote in any July contests, their sample ballot is available through the Voter Search tool. Scroll down to the “Your Sample Ballot” section. No sample ballot will appear if a voter is not eligible to vote in one of these elections.

Absentee ballots will be mailed to voters who request them beginning on or about June 24. For more information, see Vote By Mail.

The regular voter registration deadline for the July elections is July 1. For more information, see How to Register.

In-person early voting begins Thursday, July 7 and ends at 3 p.m. Saturday, July 23. For early voting locations and schedules in your county, see the One-Stop Early Voting Site Search. Also see One-Stop Voting Sites for the July 26, 2022 Election (PDF).

Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. July 26. See the Voter Search tool for your assigned polling place.

For additional information on the July 26 elections, see Upcoming Election.

Author: Mike Jackson